top of page

Greater Indianapolis ACT-SO Results

2021 Indianapolis ACT-SO Competition

April 17, 2021

Lincoln Middle School

INDIANAPOLIS -- The Greater Indianapolis NAACP congratulates Jordyn Jones of Ben Davis High School for earning an opportunity to compete in the national ACT-SO competition with her written and spoken poetry. Jordyn represented our branch very well in the competition.

2019 Indianapolis ACT-SO Competition

April 27, 2019

Lincoln Middle School

INDIANAPOLIS — May 5, 2019 — Two Indianapolis high school students have been selected to advance to the national NAACP talent competition known as ACT-SO, the Afro-Academic, Cultural, Technological and Scientific Olympics.


Ronell Lewis, a senior at Shortridge High School, will compete in the contemporary vocalist category and Chaffew Scott, a junior at Speedway High School, will compete as a contemporary instrumentalist.


Ronell and Chaffew were selected by judges during the April 27 local ACT-SO competition at Lincoln Middle School in Pike Township. They will compete in the national ACT-SO competition July 18-22 in Detroit, in conjunction with the national NAACP convention.


“Congratulations to these talented young men for their achievement, and good luck to them as they prepare for the national competition in Detroit. We look forward to cheering them on,” said Chrystal Ratcliffe, president of the Greater Indianapolis NAACP Branch 3053.

2018 Indianapolis ACT-SO Competition

Committee:  ACT-SO
Chair: Mrs. Sandra Parker
Co-Chair: Mr. Byron Ratcliffe
Assistant: Ms. Soroya Garner

The 2018 ACT-SO Competition 

was held at 

Pike Township's Lincoln Middle School on Saturday, April 21, 2018

The winners are:

Moudatou Barry - Pike HS - Painting,

Nadia Issa - Ben Davis HS - Drawing, Entrepreneurship and Oratory,

Brittney Morton - Pike HS - Photography,

Janet Oluwayoni - Ben Davis HS - Dramatics,

Gabriel Ratcliffe - Cathedral - Poetry - Performance

Edward Strickling - Broad Ripple HS - Music - Vocal Contemporary

2017 National NAACP  ACT-SO Competition

ACT-SO Chair Sandra Parker reported:

The Greater Indianapolis Branch #3053 had a Silver Medalist in the 2017 National NAACP  ACT-SO Competition.  

Miss Kourtney Kinchen - Brebeuf Jesuit Prep School, won a silver medal for Poetry - Written.  She received $1500 and a Chrome Notebook. Our other local Gold Medalists included: Kylah Barnes - Ben Davis University High School, Vocal Music -Contemporary, Moudatou Barry - Pike High School - Drawing, Machaila Gray - Broad Ripple High School, Painting, Nadia Issa - Ben Davis High School, Oratory,  Justin Kinchen - ParkTudor High School, Instrumental Music-Classical and Contemporary, Brittany Morton - Pike High School, Photography and Antony Winfrey - Vocal Music - Classical.

We stayed in the beautiful Renaissance Harbor Hotel in Baltimore, Maryland. The competition and awards program was held in the Baltimore Convention Center.   Special thanks to all our sponsors and supporters.

Indianapolis 2017 ACTSO Competition 


ACT-SO Chair Sandra Parker reported:

The local competition was held on Saturday, April 15, 2017 at Lincoln Middle School.  We had several schools participating this year: Ben Davis, Ben Davis University, Brebeuf, Broad Ripple, Crispus Attucks Medical Magnet, Hamilton Southeastern, Park Tudor and Pike. 


Eight students qualified to attend Nationals in Baltimore, Maryland.  One participant qualified in two areas.

The following students will go to the National ACT-SO Competition: 
Nadia Issa - Ben Davis - Oratory

Kyla Barnes - Ben Davis - Music - Vocal-Contemporary, 

Kourtney Kinchen - Brebeuf - Poetry - Written, 

Michaela Gray - Broad Ripple - Painting, 

Justin Kinchen - Music - Instrumental - Classical and Contemporary, 

Antony Winfrey - Pike - Music - Vocal - Classical, 

Brittney Morton - Pike - Photography

Moudatou Barry - Pike - Drawing

2016 Greater Indianapolis ACT-SO Competition


Nadia Issa

from Ben Davis High School



Chantal Gatlin 

from Broad Ripple Magnet H.S.

Contemporary Instrumental 

Music Winner


Kamaria Boynton from Crispus Attucks

Contemporary Vocal Music Winner

The 2015 National ACTSO Competition took place on July 9th and 10th during the 106th NAACP Annual Convention

in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania


 ACT-SO Chair Sandra Parker reported:

       "Our ACT-SO contestants had great reviews but no national winners this year.  We had a great time

and the closing performance was outstanding.  Two of our contestants made the Big Screen

during the awards.  They filmed our cello players and showed a picture of our singers."

2015 Greater Indianapolis ACT-SO Competition


Greater Indianapolis NAACP Branch #3053 Contestants for 2015:


Enrique Arias Viera - instrumental classical - Cello - Broad Ripple

Diarra Davis - Oratory - Herron

Trinity Elliott - Original Essay - Ben Davis

Mariah Holifield - Music - Vocal - Contemporary - Crispus Attucks

bottom of page